Skip to content

Thoughts in Prose: The Teen Vogue Handbook

November 27, 2009

This time last year I was finishing my last semester at Parsons, confident that a succinct resume and determination would land me an entry-level job.

I’m still searching…

Luckily for me, I’m not alone.  Several friends have either gone into different industries or they too are jobless, college graduates who took as many unpaid opportunities as their budget would allow.

We’ve traded in our overpriced NY apartments for the comfort of mom’s couch, pledging to give the Big Apple another go round soon.

To keep busy, I visit the public libraries with a notebook and pen ready to digest any and everything that will keep my creative juices flowing. Somewhere in between The Outliers and The Lost Symbol, I found a priceless gem.

The Teen Vogue Handbook: An Insider’s Guide to Careers in Fashion is a compilation of career advice from the industry’s top designers, editors, photographers, makeup artists and models.

Page after page, resources flow for any student, intern or recent graduate who THOUGHT they knew how to land those coveted gigs and while no one’s path is identical, their advice is the same:

-Network
– Work hard
-Go above and beyond
– Have a positive attitude
-Hone your craft
-Never stop learning

No matter where you are, you can turn your hometown stay into a professional building block.  I still have a long road ahead of me as I build my career, but for now, The Teen Vogue Handbook eases the unemployment woe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

