Skip to content

New York Fashion Week Recap

September 20, 2009

NYFW

“Fashion is my football”

I say it jokingly but believe me, it’s very true. I couldn’t have picked a better career than a budding fashion journalist. I’m not “front and center” at any shows just yet but that doesn’t mean I can’t test out my skills. During Fashion Week, I’m like a kid on Christmas Eve waiting anxiously to open her gifts. I’ll stay up hours on end reviewing the collections and eyeing out the hottest trends.

I was a bit nervous to see what the collections would look like with all this “recession” talk because my lack of job in fashion is the hurtful reminder that in economic downturn, fashion is the FIRST thing to go.

However, the designers proved that the recession may not be fully behind us, but they really aren’t interested in staying there.

The runways were full of practical, daring and sexy clothing. And the silhouettes, man how they’ve changed. Last season, we say all the body-con pieces (think spandex dresses a la Hervé Léger). This season, it’s all about loose-fitting comfortably, chic designs (Isaac Mizrahi’s entire collection is devoted to this).

Here are my favorite looks from the runway in no particular order.

PS. Can I tell you how much I adore those Proenza boys?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

